



The UK's withdrawal from the EU - who's who

Once the Council of the European Union has agreed the negotiating mandate, the European Commission will be placed in charge of the negotiations with the UK. The Commission's negotiating team is likely to work closely with the President of the European Council, and other Council representatives along with the European Parliament's negotiating representative.



United Kingdom's negotiation team



The Rt Hon David Davis MP - Secretary of State for Exiting the EU

As Secretary of State, David Davis is responsible for:

- the policy work to support the UK's negotiations to leave the European Union and to establish the future relationship between the EU and the UK
- working very closely with the UK's devolved administrations, Parliament, and a wide range of other interested parties on what the approach to those negotiations should be
- conducting the negotiations in support of the Prime Minister including supporting bilateral discussions on EU exit with other European countries
- leading and co-ordinating cross-government work to seize the opportunities and ensure a smooth process of exit on the best possible terms



Sir Tim Barrow - UK's Permanent Representative to the EU

Sir Tim Barrows delivered the Article 50 letter written by the Prime Minister to Donald Tusk, the President of the European Council.

The United Kingdom Permanent Representation to the European Union (UKRep) represents the UK in negotiations that take place in the EU. The UK's Permanent Representative to the EU has overall responsibility for the work of the mission and represents the UK at weekly Committee of Permanent Representatives (Coreper II) meetings in the Council of the European Union.

During the negotiations on the UK's departure from the EU, the role of UKRep will be to support UK Government Ministers during the negotiations.



Oliver Robbins - Permanent Secretary for the Department for Exiting the EU

As Permanent Secretary, Oliver Robbins will have responsibility for supporting the department in the negotiations to leave the EU and establishing the future relationship between the UK and EU .



European Union's negotiation team



Donald Tusk - President of the European Council

Donald Tusk, the former Polish Prime Minister received the Article 50 letter from the Prime Minister. The President is primarily responsible for chairing the European Council and driving forward its work; ensuring that the European Council follows a consistent policy line and as much as possible facilitates cohesion and consensus within the European Council.

During the Brexit negotiations, Tusk will be responsible for coordinating the unified position of the EU27 Governments in the negotiations, this will involve chairing EU27 discussions about Brexit.



Didier Seeuws - Head of the European Council Taskforce Brexit

A Belgian diplomat, Didier Seeuws, has been appointed by the Council to lead its taskforce on Brexit. He has already played a key role ahead of the negotiations by coordinating the views of the EU27 in the development of the draft guidelines.

Those guidelines need to be approved at an EU27 summit on 29 April. Once the negotiations begin, the Council's Brexit work will probably involve overseeing the work of the Commission as it carries out the negotiations. It's possible Seeuws will chair the special committee of member state representatives appointed to oversee the negotiations for the Council.



Michel Barnier - Head of the European Commission Taskforce on Brexit

The European Commission has established a Taskforce on Article 50 negotiations with the United Kingdom which is responsible for preparing and conducting the negotiations with the UK. The Taskforce is led by Michel Barnier, former Vice-President of the European Commission and former French Europe Minister.

The Taskforce has also produced an organisation chart.



Guy Verhofstadt MEP - European Parliament Coordinator for Brexit negotiations

Guy Verhofstadt, a former Belgian Prime Minister, will represent the European Parliament during the Brexit negotiations. Although the European Parliament has no formal role in the Brexit negotiations, it must approve or reject the final withdrawal agreement and any future trade agreement.

Verhofstadt, a member of the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats in Europe Group in the European Parliament will be the Parliament's coordinator during the negotiations. He will work with an informal "steering committee" of other prominent parliamentarians including German MEP Elmar Brok of the European People's Party (EPP) and Roberto Gualtieri of the Socialists and Democrats Group.